Political Landscape in McLennan County, Texas: A Historical Perspective

McLennan County, Texas is a hub of activity, boasting a wide variety of industries and educational institutions. In January 2021, the McLennan County Appraisal District will be rebranded as the McLennan Central Appraisal District. The county is home to several renowned universities, including Baylor University, Texas State Technical College, and McLennan Community College. Waco is also home to a number of museums, such as the Dr.

Pepper Museum, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, the Texas Rangers Museum and Hall of Fame, and the Mayborn Museum Complex. In 1964, the Texas Department of Public Safety designated Waco as the official state-designated museum of the legendary Texas Rangers police agency. The largest universities in McLennan County by number of degrees awarded are Baylor University (22,323 (5,321 and 51.9%)), the Texas State Technical College (2,789 and 27.2%), and McLennan Community College (1,886 and 18.4%).The chart below shows senators elected in Texas over time, excluding special elections, colored by their political party. In May 1966, the base closed and has since been the headquarters of the Texas State Technical School (formerly the Texas State Technical Institute). MA and his wife Virginia were influential figures in Republican politics in the county and were successful in growing the party's presence.

This included positions such as district presidents as well as increasing Republican assistants such as the McLennan County Republican Men's Club (now simply called the Republican Club) and the Women's Club (MCRW), both of which still exist today.